What is Delimitation? – Part 3

Posted on March 11,2013


In our first and second post on delimitation, we saw the need for delimitation, and why in the latest delimitation, the no. of seats in Lok Sabha from each state remained unchanged from the previous delimitation. That was not the only thing that differentiated the latest delimitation from the previous ones. There were six states in which delimitation was not carried out at all. These states are Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Jharkhand and Jammu & Kashmir.

In the four North East states, delimitation could not be carried out because the census exercise in these states were disputed. Hence several organizations from these states had challenged the delimitation exercise in courts and had got a stay order for the delimitation. Hence no delimitation could be carried in these North Eastern states. In Jharkhand, however the reason was slightly different. Jharkhand state was carved out of Bihar and had 28 constituencies reserved for Scheduled Tribes out of 81 seats in the state assembly. However,  after the delimitation exercise in 2002, the number of ST reserved assembly constituencies in the state were reduced to 22 from 28 earlier. The Lok Sabha constituencies too had reduced to 4 from 5. This had led to widespread protests in the state. The then CM Madhu Koda requested the Election Commission to not implement the recommendations of delimitation commission in the state. The Election Commission accepted his request. In the next part, we will look at some other aspects of delimitation.