Update: AC Aggregate to PC and Alliance

On IndiaVotes, along with official Election Results, we also show results by pre poll alliances. This helps in better analysis of states like Maharashtra, Kerala, Bihar and Tamilnadu etc where pre poll alliance info is crucial for any meaningful election analysis. Another important feature on our website is of projecting assembly election results on parliamentary constituencies by aggregating assembly constituency results that fall within a parliamentary constituency. Now, we have updated this feature and one would be able to see AC aggregated results by PC for pre poll alliances


New Feature: Impact of Assembly Election on Lok Sabha Seats

On our blog, we have analyzed impact of assembly elections on Lok Sabha seats in the past for Karnataka, Gujarat and the three North Eastern States for which elections were held in February. Now we have launched this feature for the latest assembly elections of all states. The methodology for calculation of Lok Sabha seats is very simple and is a purely mathematical exercise. In this it is assumed that voters would vote the same party in the parliamentary election that they voted in assembly election. So for any Lok Sabha seat, we add the total votes polled by the parties in the assembly election and determine the winner accordingly


New Feature: Search by District

We had enhanced our website with information on Districts a couple of months back. Now we have also enabled search by district on our Homepage. With this new feature it would be much easier to analyze election results of a district.This feature is only available for assembly elections. This is because assembly constituencies are delimited in such a way that an assembly constituency would be confined within a district. (There are some exceptions but this is the general practice that the Election Commission follows). A parliamentary constituency however would not necessarily belong to just one district


New Feature: Pre Poll Alliances for Assembly Elections

In June 2013, we had launched Pre Poll Alliances for Lok Sabha elections. Electoral information for the three major alliances is available for last six Lok Sabha elections. Now we can also see alliances for assembly elections. As of now, we have information for UP, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, Gujarat, Rajasthan, Chhatisgarh and Delhi. Alliance information would be available for all assembly elections in these states since 1990  on the respective election page of state elections or here. We will update alliance information for all major states in the next few days


New Feature: Election Results Download

On popular demand, we have now enabled downloading of last parliamentary and last assembly elections for all states. This will help election enthusiasts to analyze results at their end. So do look for Export to CSV button on latest elections. All the data, that is displayed on the screen is downloadable in CSV. Once you click on the a constiruency, you can also download constituency level data.

Going forward, we would allow downloading of all future elections from IndiaVotes. Please use this feature and get back to us with feedback.

Update: Swing Impact

 We had launched Swing Impact tool, before the Karnataka Elections. The formula for calculating the Swing was very basic. When considering a swing for one party, the other parties were ignored. Also the impact on all constituencies was uniform. We have now updated our tool and changed the formula for calculating swing. We can also see the impact of the swing on vote share and seats of other parties, the list of seats where results change because of swing and also the seats where there is no change. Just as last time, the base for calculating seats is last election results


New Feature: Districts for Assembly Constituencies

As we continue to enhance IndiaVotes with additional data and features, we are glad that now we have updated Assembly Election results for all states with Districts. So now when you check assembly election results on our website, you would also know the district in which the constituency falls. By clicking on the district, you can check all the assembly constituencies that fall in the district and their election details. For example check the assembly constituencies that fall under Mumbai City and Mumbai Surban district. We will enhance this feature and add more analytical district level reports


New Feature – Maps

We are glad to announce that on popular demand, we are launching Maps. Initially, you can visualize Lok Sabha results since 1996 and last two assembly election results for all states. Eventually, we would integrate all Election Results on IndiaVotes with Maps. These maps would show results at constituency level. So for assembly elections, we can see results for any constituency at a click of mouse. The same applies for parliamentary constituencies in parliamentary elections. The constituencies would be color coded by winning party. So by glance at a state or country's map, one would get a good idea about the reach of a particular party


New Feature – Pre Poll Alliances

On popular demand, we have added a new feature of pre poll alliances on IndiaVotes. Indian politics is in coalition era and it seems highly unlikely that any party would get a majority on its own in the near future at least nationally. The last time a single party got a majority on its own in Lok Sabha was in 1984. Not just nationally, even in many states, the era of single party dominance is over. So it is important to know performances of not just parties but even alliances. It is not common knowledge that in 2009, pre poll UPA could not reach the half way mark and only got 262 seats


Karnataka Elections: What would 2014 Lok Sabha results in Karnataka look like?

After the Karnataka Assembly Elections, speculation has begun about the results in 2014 Lok Sabha elections. As we did after Gujarat Assembly Elections, in this post we show what the Lok Sabha results in Karnataka would be like, if voters vote in exactly the same manner as they did in assembly elections. BJP, which won 19 seats in 2009, would win just two seats. KJP and BSR Congress (party of Reddy Brothers) would not win a single seat.Congress would win 22 seats and JD(S) 4 seats. However if KJP and BSR Congress votes are added to BJP, it would win 11 seats